Three Boys and Counting

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Works For Me Wednesday-Freezer Cooking October 20, 2009

Filed under: Works for Me Wednesday — threeboysandcounting @ 10:10 pm

Works for me WednesdayOk, I don’t really know if this is going to work for me, but I have VERY high hopes.  It seems like tons of people are blogging about cooking up a bunch of meals and freezing them. I have also had a couple of friends here recommend this method of cooking to curb the madness that is usually dinner time.  Well, after many weeks of listening to Harper whining and crying during his fussy time of day that happens to fall smack when I am trying to cook dinner, or throwing my hands up in defeat and going out to eat or ordering pizza, I am going to give this whole freezer meal thing a whirl.  Now, you might be wondering why exactly am I choosing to try this the day my husband leaves for Texas for a 5 day conference.  Well, I can tell you that I am wondering the EXACT SAME THING. At any rate, I am still going to give it a go.  Click around on cyberspace and you will find a million articles and posts about this topic, as well as a TON of recipes. Here is a glimpse of my ambitious list of meals:

Country Style Pork Ribs
Tarragon Chicken
Chicken and Biscuits
Chicken Tetrazzini
Baked Ziti
Lasagna
Pork Roast
BBQ Pork Sandwiches (can you tell pork was on sale)
Rice Crispy Chicken
Taco Meat
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Muffins
Rolls

I really hope this ends up being as amazing as people have told me. i can really see how this could make my life easier. Spend a couple days slaving in the kitchen and a month just pulling stuff out of the freezer to thaw and heat/bake! I’ll report how it goes! For more works for me wednesday go here.

 

11 Responses to “Works For Me Wednesday-Freezer Cooking”

  1. I do freezer cooking regularly and it works for us! It makes our life so much simpler.

  2. Good Luck with your baking day!

  3. Michelle Says:

    I have never done this but have heard it works well. I would have a hard time finding the block of time to prepare everything but I really should try it.

  4. Lisa Says:

    This is a great plan! I’ve done during pregnancy and it was such a huge help when I had new babies at home. Enjoy!

  5. Anonymous Says:

    If you get overwhelmed with massive amounts of cooking, just go the simpler route and make double batches of your regular meals. Eat one batch for dinner and stick the second batch in the freezer. After only one week, you’ll have 7 dinners in the freezer and ready to go. No bulk cooking or extra time required. This is what I do since the idea of bulk cooking for two days makes me want to hide in bed under the covers. 🙂

  6. 'Becca Says:

    I second the suggestion of double-batching your meals. I only have a regular freezer (not a chest freezer) so when I cook a double batch, I put one portion in the refrigerator to eat a few days later; when I cook a triple batch or more, I put one portion in the fridge and the rest in the freezer.

    Click my name for two burrito recipes that freeze really well. You can microwave/toasteroven them individually for quick lunches.


Leave a Reply

