Three Boys and Counting

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Spirited Children October 5, 2009

Filed under: Lucas,Mommy Monday,Spirited Children — threeboysandcounting @ 9:26 pm

I don’t know how many of you have heard the term “Spirited Child.” But Lucas DEFINITELY falls into this category.  If you have a spirited child, you know exactly what I am talking about. To quote Mary Sheedy Kurcinka, author of Raising Your Spirited Child, “The word that distinguishes spirited children from other children is more. They are normal children who are more intense, persistent, sensitive, perceptive, and uncomfortable with change than other children. All children possess these characteristics, but spirited kids posess them with a depth and range not available to other children.  Spirited kids are the SUPER BALL in a room full of rubber balls.  Other kids bounce three feet off the ground. Every bounce for a spirited child hits the ceiling.”

This describes our first born EXACTLY. He is my child who demands the most of me in time, energy, patience, and pretty much everything. Most days at some point he makes me crazy, makes me want to pull my hair out.  He is incredible, and I love him, but it is often difficult to ENJOY him. I am on a mission now to find resources out there to help me parent this spirited child so that we can all enjoy him more because he truly is worth enjoying!

To start off on y mission, I am reading the above mentioned book.  I will keep you posted on our progress. To keep it real, this has come about after a difficult weekend with Lucas.  Sometimes, he actually makes me not want to stay at home. I know that is HORRIBLE  to say, but he definitely tries my patience. However, I have hope that we can find a way to tame him, without taming his spirit. 🙂

 

One Response to “Spirited Children”

  1. […] — threeboysandcounting @ 10:11 am I have been slacking a little with keeping my spirited child busy…partly because of the demands of my now 8 month old….he is getting into everything […]


Leave a Reply

