Three Boys and Counting

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Works For Me Wednesday-Getting Help Around the House September 9, 2009

Filed under: Works for Me Wednesday — threeboysandcounting @ 8:40 am

Works for me WednesdayI really am trying to improve my frugalness, but there is one area where we are splurging but has been so worth the splurge for our happiness, sanity, and general well-being as a family. Last year for our anniversary my husband hired a college student to help me with the cleaning twice a month. She has been an incredible addition to our family life.  I LOVE her!  Now that she has worked for us for a year we have a great rhythm. She knows exactly how I want things cleaned and cleans my bathrooms, kitchen, vacuuming, boys rooms, basement, and even babysits occasionally. She is my sanity saver.  As a new mom I felt like I needed to be a superwoman and have all the laundry always done, ironing done, house spic and span, and dinner on the table every night.  Four years and three children later, I simply could not keep up with even the most basic things. I have since lowered my standards and asked for help during these early years of my children’s lives.  It has freed up a lot of time for me to be with them instead of exhausting myself cleaning, and it has greatly improved my happiness to still have a clean house!  So, I know this is not something everyone can do, but it is something we have squeezed into our budget and I am so grateful to be letting go of my pride and asking someone to come and help me for awhile. It works for me. For more Works For ME Wednesday go here.

 

3 Responses to “Works For Me Wednesday-Getting Help Around the House”

  1. I think it’s awesome to get support and help from others. You are able to spend you time doing those things that are important to you, plus you are helping out a collage student!

  2. weeble Says:

    I’ve been able to do that in the past and am finding that I need it again. It is such a blessing!

  3. […] dire need of a good cleaning, and I am the only one who sees that or does anything about it.  Our housekeeper has been out with a broken toe, so it is just the Stampers household.  But really, we have a lot […]


Leave a Reply

